Who Can Be in the Car with a Permit Driver in Chicago, Illinois?

Thursday, December 14, 2023

Who Can Be in the Car with a Permit Driver in Chicago, Illinois?

Written by Malman Law, reviewed by Steve J. Malman.

Getting a driver’s license is a rite of passage for teenagers, and many young people start the process with an instruction permit at the age of 15. Obtaining a permit is part of Illinois’s graduated driver’s license program, which introduces new, inexperienced drivers to the complexities of driving while minimizing the risks of car accidents associated with inexperience.

Anyone injured by an unlicensed or inexperienced driver should immediately contact a Chicago car accident attorney for a consultation.

Permit Restrictions

One of the restrictions of an instruction permit in  is that the driver must be supervised by a parent or adult 21 or older with a valid driver’s license. In addition, the number of passengers in the front seat and the number of safety belts in the back seat are limited to one. Some of the other restrictions associated with a permit involve the following:

  • Enrollment in an approved driver education course and successful completion of vision and written tests.
  • Nighttime driving restrictions, which apply from Sunday to Thursday between 10 p.m. and 6 a.m. and on Fridays and Saturdays between 11 p.m. and 6 a.m. (local curfews may differ).
  • A minimum nine-month holding period for the permit.
  • A minimum of 50 hours of driving practice, including 10 hours at night, under the supervision of a parent or an adult aged 21 or older with a valid driver’s license.
  • No driving convictions are allowed during the nine-month permit phase.
  • Only one passenger is permitted in the front seat, and the number of occupants in the back seat is limited to the available safety belts.
  • Safety belts must be worn by all occupants.
  • The use of cell phones while driving, including hands-free devices, is prohibited for drivers under the age of 19, except in emergencies.
  • Texting while driving is prohibited.

These restrictions are meant to allow young drivers to learn while reducing the risk of them causing an accident. Unfortunately, permit drivers do not always follow them, and even when they do, inexperienced drivers can cause accidents.

What Should You Do if You are Injured by a Permit Driver?

If you suffer injuries in a car accident caused by a permit driver, you should take the following steps to protect your legal rights.

  • Seek medical attention. Seeing a doctor will ensure that you receive the treatment you need and that your injuries are documented properly.
  • Do not accept a settlement offer or sign any paperwork related to your crash without speaking to an attorney.
  • Follow the treatment plan and attend all doctors and physical therapy appointments. Failing to do so can.
  • Talk to an attorney as soon as you can. When you retain a lawyer, you can focus on your health and well-being while your attorney pursues compensation on your behalf.

Call Us Today to Speak to a Chicago Car Accident Lawyer

If you have suffered injuries in a car accident caused by a driver with a permit, you should speak to an attorney as soon as possible. At Malman Law, we have been representing the rights of injured victims since 1994. To schedule a free case evaluation with an attorney, call our office today or contact us online.

Steve Malman

Malman Law’s founder Attorney Steven Malman has over 30 years of experience handling personal injury, nursing home, medical malpractice, truck accidents, car accidents, premises liability, construction, and workers’ compensation cases in Chicago, IL.

Years of experience: +30 years
Illinois Registration Status: Active and authorized to practice law—Last Registered Year: 2023

What’s your case worth? Submit for a free case review

Related Blog Posts

view all news